Alibaba Founder Jack Ma Appointed Honorary Professor at HKU

On April 21, the University of Hong Kong (HKU) announced on its official website that Jack Ma, the founder of Alibaba and a prominent Chinese business magnate, has been appointed as an honorary professor for three years. His focus will be on education and corporate innovation.

According to Chao News, Jack Ma Foundation confirmed the announcement, saying that the work is highly compatible with Ma’s entrepreneurial experience and philosophy. The foundation noted that Ma, who was a university teacher for six years, has a strong affection for the campus and a passion for education, and is always willing to share his entrepreneurial experience with young people. During his return, he plans to continue his research on education and business innovation by collaborating with teachers and students at the university.

Ma’s relationship with HKU was foreshadowed in 2018 when the university awarded him an honorary Doctor of Social Sciences degree during its 199th degree award ceremony. The recognition was given to Ma for his significant contributions to technology, society, and the world. During the ceremony, Ma shared his personal experience of failing his college entrance exam three times before finally getting into university. He encouraged young people to persevere despite setbacks and work hard towards their goals.

SEE ALSO: Founder of Alibaba Group, Jack Ma Returns to China

Ma has dedicated his work and life to two locations, Hangzhou and Hong Kong. His focus areas include education, agriculture, enterprise innovation, and technological innovation. Following his appointment as an honorary professor at HKU, Chinese social media was abuzz with discussions about him. Netizens raised queries such as whether Ma would be teaching at HKU or what courses he would be offering. Some even expressed interest in applying to become his graduate student.

Ma has been awarded honorary doctorates from several universities, including Tel Aviv University, the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, National Taiwan Normal University, and De La Salle University.